My Interview With Author Natalie Gibson!

I’m starting something new here, and I hope you’re as excited as I am! Every Friday I’ll feature a new author. To kick it off, let’s start with author Natalie Gibson! She’s the author of the Sinnis series, a series I’m a huge fan of. She’s also writing the Carrier Trilogy, which is a fascinating trip in time, as well as the erotic short series, Mount Haven Quickies. Without further ado, here’s my interview with Natalie Gibson! 

Image

1. What genre are your books? That’s a tough one.  Paranormal Romance, Erotic Romance, Erotica, Horror, Sci-fi – but they are all filled with action and adventure.  That’s what I like to read so that’s what I write.

2. Where did the idea for your first book come from? Well, Ishtar Bound was my first but it didn’t start out as a PNR.  It was a Contemporary Romance based on my meeting and falling in love with my husband.  About half way through I changed everything and added magic and boom – the books of Sinnis were born.

3. What are you currently working on? I am writing the sequel to Hateful Burden, a gaslight era paranormal horror, called Wretched Blood.  I am also working on a Sinnis Short Story and a stand-alone vampire novel.

4. Where do your book covers come from? I am lucky to be married to a wonderful man who encourages me and helps with anything he can.  He did all 5 covers for the Sinnis Books and all 4 Mount Haven Quickies.  I have a wonderful team at Blue Harvest Creative who did Hateful Burden.  They will do Wretched Blood and any other book not in the Sinnis series or Mount Haven Quickies.  They are now my official design team.

5. Where do you see your writing career five years from now? Oh, man.  It’s hard to say.  I would LIKE to be working full time as a writer instead of it being a side business.  I enjoy being self-published and don’t see myself chasing after the old-school dream of signing with one of the big 6.  If I can make a living at this, and it doesn’t have to be all that much money, I want to keep going like I am – I write, Blue Harvest Creative designs and then I publish.

6. What is your favorite part of the writing process? The beginning.  Deciding on a genre, subject, characters and then writing.  Because of this I have about a half dozen books started but not finished.

7. What is your least favorite part of the writing process? Trying to figure out how to get people to read my books.  I know there is a market for them but finding that market is the worst.

8. How do you write? Outlining, a few short notes that become a book, just sit down and write, etc? I just did a blog on that. http://www.theromancetroupe.com/2013/04/what-did-you-just-call-me.html  I am a list maker.  I took that and mixed it with the snowflake method.  I am a plotter/planner but I’m not afraid to dump my plans should something better come up.

9. What message do you want your readers to take away from your books? I write for entertainment.  If my readers enjoy the books, that is all I want.

10. What do you want to say, personally, to your readers right now? Thank you.  Thanks for taking a chance on an unknown.  And…TELL YOUR FRIENDS!

 

Fun Questions

 

1. If you were only allowed to read one book for the rest of your life, what would that book be? Every author has 100 top 10 books, if you know what I mean.  If I could really only choose one, it would probably be The Hollow Hills by Mary Stewart.

2. If you could be any book character, who would you want to be? Camilla Lovejoy in Ishtar Anomaly.  If you’ve read it, you know why.

3. If you could be anything at all, overnight, what career other than being an author would you choose? Director – for the stage.  I have a degree in Theatre from University of Texas at Austin.

4. What one item could you not live without? My Kindle

 

Favorites

 

Color? EMERALD GREEN

Number? 9

Book? I will give you one each from a number of genres.

Fiction The Hollow Hills–Mary Stewart

Non-Fiction When God Was a Woman–Merlin Stone

Science-Fiction West of Eden–Harry Harrison

Graphic Novel V for Vendetta–Alan Moore

Paranormal Romance Series The Dark Series–Christine Feehan

Favorite Author Anya Bast

Holiday? Hallowe’en, hands down, easy pick

Animal? tortoise

Song? Wild Horses by the Rolling Stones

Band/Artist? No Doubt or Maroon 5

Month? October

Season? Fall

Hateful Burden- book 1 in the Carrier Trilogy

Hateful Burden is a gaslight-era paranormal horror novel as well as a psychological thriller where friends and foes are not always what they seem.

In this dark urban fantasy, paranormal powers are bred and collected. Lady Ramillia Winmoore, daughter of the Earl of Brooksberry, has suffered from gaps in her memory her entire life. But this darkness is a blessing. Whenever she feels threatened, it takes over and protects her from feeling pain or even the slightest bit of discomfort.

That is until the day she awakens strapped to an examining table at the West Freeman Asylum for Lunatics. Imprisoned for the gruesome murder of her parents, Ramillia learns she has lost ten months to the darkness. Forced to endure years of tortuous treatments in a grimy, hidden cell, salvation arrives in the form of a benefactor named Sir Julian Lawerence.

Betrothed to her through an arranged marriage, he helps her gain freedom. But appearances are deceiving and soon Ramillia learns the cost she must pay. The horrors she encounters in his household are far worse than the asylum when he inducts her into a society of blood-thirsty, cruel immortals.

Soon she is forced to join them and accept their way of life. Now Ramillia must break free of a prison she cannot see, kill an enemy that cannot die, and find a daughter that she cannot remember–all with the help of an ally she does not know. Who is Sally and can she be trusted? Is this mysterious and frightening woman trying to save her or is she planning on saving Ramillia for herself?

Hateful Burden is available for kindle for $2.99 or in paperback for $7.99

http://www.amazon.com/Hateful-Burden-Carrier-Trilogy-1/dp/0615811248

http://www.amazon.com/Hateful-Burden-Carrier-Trilogy-Volume/dp/0615811248

Website http://www.authornataliegibson.com/

FB Fan page https://www.facebook.com/authornataliegibson

FB Friend page https://www.facebook.com/author.gibson

Twitter @AuthorNatGibson https://twitter.com/AuthorNatGibson

You can also find out what I like to read when I’m not writing on Goodreads or Satin Sheets Romance Review.

Thank you, Natalie, for your time! It’s been a pleasure learning more about you and your work- I, as always, look forward to reading more! 

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “My Interview With Author Natalie Gibson!

  1. Thanks for having me, Kay!

Leave a Reply

