Book Review: Text Message, by William Malmborg

Seldom have I downloaded a Kindle book that has wowed me, but this one did! It kept me up, kept me thinking, wondering what would happen next, wondering how I’d fare in a similar situation, and how far one will go for love. Today I’m reviewing:

Text Message, By William Malmborg

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0069RZXEQ/ref=cm_cr_rev_prod_title

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0069RZXEQ/ref=cm_cr_rev_prod_title

Description on Goodreads: Mr. Campbell enjoys working at the Park Place Mall. In fact, he likes the mall so much that sometimes he stays there overnight just so he can wander the open hallways and browse through the stores all by himself. The only thing more enjoyable than being within the mall alone is having a female companion there with him, one clothed in a sexy undergarment from the risky lingerie store who must flee his predatory desires. Of course getting a girl to go along with such a fun game isn’t easy. Thankfully he knows a way around this. It seems women become incredibly compliant when the flesh of a love one is threatened, especially when evidence of that threat is sent to them from the loved one’s own phone.

Description on Amazon: Mallory thought it would be a quick trip to the mall, one where she could get a last minute Christmas gift. Little did she know a momentary slip in judgment would result in her sister’s abduction. Unable to call the police for fear her sister will be killed, Mallory has no choice but to play the awful game the sadistic kidnapper has designed for her.  Will she survive?

Review:

I love horror stories. I enjoy reading them, but a lot of times I’ll download them and be horribly disappointed. This was not the case with this story. Text Message held me in its clutches until I finished it, and I was dying to get to the end, but disappointed when it was over because I wanted more. More from this story, more from this author. So I’ll definitely be downloading more from Mr. Malmborg in the future.

Shopping malls are bright, cheerful places, especially at Christmastime. But what about when the lights go out? Better still, what about when a serial killer tortures and taunts you in a shopping mall filled with bustling people finishing their shopping, and all you can do is play his game, or risk the death of a loved one? Well, you play along, until you decide to stand your ground.

I loved that Mallory and Jenna weren’t weak, useless female characters. They were strong, stubborn young girls with a will to live. Dan, the war hero, trying so hard to help… It was so wonderfully written that I’ll be talking about it for days to come with my friends and family. I highly recommend this story to anyone who enjoys a good edge-of-your-seat torture tale with an ending you won’t see coming. 5 stars!

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

