Children: AKA Animals

I would like to take just a moment to veer off-course and rant about my children. I worked so hard yesterday. Harder than you could believe. I spent from 9 a.m. yesterday morning until 3 p.m. that afternoon getting my house organized for our houseguests coming next weekend.

First I painted my daughter’s bedroom, or as I like to call it, the new guest room. This room has been painted before- twice. Little miss likes to go in her room and peel the paint off the walls. She can spend hours at this task- and she has, believe me. So I bought a nice gallon of lilac-colored paint and redid the walls. I did two coats, and I think it looks great. To prevent the same issue from happening again Ihad my hubby remove her toy box from her room and set it up in the living room. I also placed a nice doorknob on her door- complete with a lock.

After that I cleaned my living room and kitchen. I also vacuumed and steam-cleaned. This took an additional hour. Then I mopped my kitchen thoroughly. The house smelled incredible- it was so nice and clean. Yes… I’m using past tense. I even got a few loads of laundry done in the process. I was exhausted but proud.

Then the children came home…. I feel like that needs capitalization. Then THE CHILDREN came home. It’s like the tagline to a horror movie- maybe I’ll title it A Mother’s Nightmare. They tracked dirt through the living room and kitchen. Previously clean clothes were tossed on the floor. *shudder* It was horrible.

So I had a thought. If my children wish to act like animals, perhaps they should be treated as such. Maybe I can donate them to science. I’d be the hero of mother’s everywhere: my children could be tested and used to find the cure for the common child. Or maybe it’s just a beautiful dream- when I wake up I’ll have to do it all over again. My life often feels like that Bill Murray movie- Groundhog’s Day. I wake up and do it over again, go to sleep, wake up, etc….

So this is what I live with. 2 children, both old enough to know better as one is nearly 5 and the other is 10. I am often proud of the fact that I’ve managed to publish 2 books and a short story- especially when I have to stop to take care of my children. I love my life- I just desperately need a vacation from it.

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “Children: AKA Animals

  1. It’s all so true! ‘THE CHILDREN’… Brilliant. 🙂

    • *LOL* They drove me up a wall this weekend… I think there are claw marks in my ceiling… 😉 At least the weather is nice- made it easier to throw them out of the house for the day!

Leave a Reply

