Relaxation? Ha! NEVER!

It's true! It's finished!

Yes indeed, it’s done- wrapped, completed, and live on Amazon. I busted my tail and managed to complete this book in only 6 weeks or so. Yes, this is a very short time frame but I treat my writing like a full-time job and I put in my hours through the week. Between my efforts and those on the part of my wonderful editor, we managed to get Bitten By Regret edited, formatted and published in only 6 weeks!

***Available here: http://www.amazon.com/Bitten-Regret-Just-Bite-ebook/dp/B007TEXFYS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1334234068&sr=8-1 ***

For those who pick up a copy, thank you very much. I truly hope the effort I put into it pleases you as much as it pleased me. I loved the way this one flowed from the beginning, and I’m excited to share it with you all. Upon completion, I’d greatly appreciate some feedback on it! I love reviews, and I love honesty.

I do have rules for how I personally write a review and I’d like to share them with you.

1- If I cannot finish the book I usually do not review it at all. Some of you may not know that too few reviews hurt just as much as nasty ones. My exception to that is poorly edited works: if there’s little or no punctuation, if there’s extra punctuation where it need not be, and the words are misspelled and just wrong, I will leave a gently worded review letting the author know that they may want to correct their efforts and repost at a later date. This warns readers of potential problems, but it also let’s the author know. Maybe they uploaded a rough draft and not a finished copy- I have seen that happen!

2- Whether I like the book or dislike it after reading it, when I write my review I make it clear how I felt. I don’t just write, “This is wonderful! I can’t wait to read more!” I let them know exactly what worked and what didn’t and (most importantly) WHY!!!

3- If I have nothing at all positive to say, I follow my mother’s rule: I choose to say nothing at all. My reviews are always honest and they let the author know exactly where they went wrong or right. This helps more than you know: who knows, your feedback could change the path of their next work.

In any case, these are tips that work for me. I hope they help you, and that they come in handy the next time you post a review. Remember, good or bad, someone worked hard on what you’re reviewing. They deserve respect for their efforts, just as you deserve respect for your opinion. If you don’t like something, remember someone else might. If you love it, someone else may hate it. Review accordingly!

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “Relaxation? Ha! NEVER!

  1. I think it’s always important to remember that the book you’ve just read is a part of someone. All the books and plays I write are part of me, a part of who I am, so I suppose that’s why I find it so hard to take criticism on the things I pen. It’s as if I am being criticised for being me – and being me is something I won’t change for anyone. Love or hate my writing, it is what it is and I am what I am.

    Well done on completing your latest novel – I hope it does really well!

    • Thank you very much, Nicola! So far it’s doing marginally better than the first book did. I certainly don’t expect instant success. I’m enjoying the flow of it and letting it go as it chooses to so far.

      Very well spoken, by the way. That’s exactly the point I was hoping to get across. Like it, love it, or hate it, someone put themselves into what you’re reviewing so it’s always best to remember that.

Leave a Reply

