Shrug off the Disappointment

Sounds like a great idea if not an easy one, right? But it’s very important to do this as a writer no mattter how hard it may be sometimes. As a writer you will get disappointed a lot- whether it’s a book rejection from a publishing house or a bad review from someone who has read your work.

I wrote a short story that I was absolutely proud of. I took an inanimate object and made it into something menacing and supernatural. It got rave reviews from those I let read it, and my pride grew. So I entered it in a short story contest. 6 winning entries were chosen for publication- mine was not one of them.

This is where the shrugging it off comes into play. I let myself be upset for a moment, but only one. Then I shrugged it off and published it on Amazon. Now it’s there for readers to enjoy even if it didn’t win the prize. While I was looking forward to having a contest publication to add to my biography it was okay- I tried and that was good even if the end result wasn’t what I was hoping for.

As for reviews that make you frown? Just remember that not everyone gets your writing style. One of my favorite authors has several 1-star reviews on Amazon, and I know he feels every one of those more than the 5-star ones. The message to take away is that you cannot please everyone, so instead I offer this advice: Write for yourself before all others. You may sell tons of copies or none at all. Be your own biggest fan and your harshest critic, but always write for yourself first.

5 Comments

Filed under Writing

5 responses to “Shrug off the Disappointment

  1. This is all so true. I, too, love to write, and whilst some will smile at you indulgently and not have the slightest interest in reading your work, there are just as many others who will love every word you have written. The thing is to keep on writing, whatever it is, whenever you have the time. Don’t be put off by people (as chances are they are secretly wishing they had what it takes to put pen to paper and create something too).

    Regards.

    Nicola

  2. Thanks for this. I need to remind myself that in the big scope of things, the little disappointments aren’t that big of a deal. However, I’m familiar with making little disappointments much larger than they are. As writers, I feel like we naturally get attached to our work, and when it gets rejected, a little piece of us is hurt, wondering why. But we need to always remember that writing is meant for ourselves first. Within ourselves we can find the drive to look beyond the petty comments and continue to pour our soul into what we love to do.

  3. Hi Amelia,

    I suppose the other nice thing these days is, what with the appearance of e-readers (even though I do LOVE paper books) we can publish ourselves on Amazon and don’t have to look to publishers and agents to get our writing out into the world. When I first started writing, I wrote to countless agents, received a multitude of ‘no thank you’ slips and often wondered if I was wasting my time as no one would see my work at this rate other than me! But now I’ve published myself on Amazon and although I only sell the odd book every so often, it’s so satisfying to know that someone out there is reading something I have created and, hopefully (!) likes it!

    • I understand completely! I, too, published on Amazon- so far one novel and one short story, but my novel I also published through Create Space in paperback format. It’s free to do so and even though you get less royalties from your sales but it’s worth it to hold an actual copy of your work in your hands.

  4. Create Space? I’ll have to investigate that 🙂

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

