Graphic Scenes- To Add or Not To Add?

Okay, so here’s my dilemma. I very much loved the graphic sex scenes I added to my first novel, Love Bite. I researched, I studied, I asked for input, I wrote the scene, I studied some more, I asked for opinions from my friends ()thank you guys, I know I drove you insane!), I researched some more, and I did 3 more rewrites!

Then came the day I published Love Bite. Oh I was so proud I like to have lost my mind! This was only 8 days ago and I’m still on cloud 9!!!! I felt fantastic, I felt proud, I felt accomplished, I felt like I had done something meaningful for the first time in forever.

Then came the reviews. Not bad reviews, they were good. But they had issues with the sex scene. Unneccessary! That word resonates in case you’re curious. A lot….

So now I’m on book 2 and I’m dawdling. I’m drawing it out for all its worth because inevitably my characters are going to want to show their love…. Do I censor myself or let myself run wild? That is the question……

5 Comments

Filed under Writing

5 responses to “Graphic Scenes- To Add or Not To Add?

  1. Marg

    I completely agree with Sam! You wrote what came to you and what your story was to tell. If that is the way your story is to travel then so be it! Keep on doing what you do best!

  2. kara

    Ok the sex scenes are a must for hot and bothered pervs like myself. However the sex scenes seem a bit unexperienced. I mean don’t get me wrong they are ok but from a lesbians stand point I find them to be too soft. I mean let’s face it we as people like sex its how some of us procreate and for others just enjoyment. Don’t be afraid to get down and dirty like I dunno a man and a woman. Cause the only difference is I choose to sleep with woman instead of men. However I can scrump like a dude when I want too. Hope its helpful any questions or comments let me know. Much love ❤ your doing a awesome job.

  3. Do not censor yourself. I had that dilemna with my blog, I was very guarded in the beginning because I was worried about people’s perceptions of me (and my parents read my blog). But my blog hits have been phenomenal since I’ve let myself by myself. Be true to yourself. Lots of positive thoughts your way, you’re doing a good job!

    • Thank you so much! It’s hard when you have family and friends who haven’t “seen” or “heard” a certain side to you. It’s hard to drop the veil and expose what you’ve kept hidden thus far. But I enjoy the writing, and it’s so much more fun to write without worry than to censor yourself on any level. I greatly appreciate the feedback. Have a fantastic day!

  4. I quite agree with everyone – the story will go the way it is meant to, sex scenes and all. By cutting bits out that you want to write, just because other people don’t like it, I think the story will come across as stilted and won’t flow they way you want it to. People have sex! Anyone who thinks that should be censored is being fusty and prudish,

    Long live the nookie scenes!

    Regards.

    Nicola

Leave a Reply

